Finds around the blog-o-sphere, 3-11-11

Live Coverage of Japan Earthquake @ Reuters: for up to date coverage, articles, video and photos

Seven Layer Casserole @ Mennonite Girls Can Cook: this looks yummy, and though I’m not a fan of tomato soup I think I’ll give it a try.

Depression Isn’t a Bad Word @ Beautiful Calling: It is a rare (unheard of?) person who can make it through this life without battling dark clouds at some point. I find it comforting to read others experiences and try to tuck an idea away or two for the next time the clouds return to my life.

How to Adapt a Recipe to Make it Healthier @ Heavenly Homemakers: This is fascinating! I have quite a bit of coconut oil in my cupboard and wish to use it. Happy for these ideas!

Buying Books on a Budget @ Thrifty NW Mom: So I’m not really interested in buying books, but I am interested in selling lots of them! I think I could reverse the idea and sell instead of buy.

Make a Difference With Your Savings @ Frugal Living NW: Giving is a huge part of healthy finances. This sounds like a good place to give.

Finding Hope @ JonesBones5: Some of the blogs I read are personal blogs from out there in the world. The lady that writes this blog is in Africa right now.

Nourishment to the Soul @ Time-Warp Wife: Today she is talking about submission to our husbands in a godly way. I find encouragement in that.

Make the Goal the Process, Not the Results @ The Simple Dollar: Trent says, “I succeed at goals where the goal itself is a process toward some further end. I fail when the goal is merely that further end.”

The 50-30-20 Budget @ MSN Money: Now, I categorically disagree with their categories. 😀 But I agree with the idea and think the little mini-tool is great. Dealing with finances in terms of percentage is growing on me as one of the best ways to look at things. They offer the categories as 50% of your income for needs, 30% of your income for wants and 20% of your income for savings. 30% for wants! Wow! Oh the things I could buy if I spent 30% (or even 2%) of my income on wants! These categories do not include giving which is very important. If I could I would keep their percentages and just change the “what for’s”- 50% for living off of, 30% savings, 20% giving. Or 20% savings and 30% giving.

Saving vs Debt Reduction @ Get Rich Slowly: This is one of their ask-the-reader features.

22 Ways to Fight Rising Food Prices @ MSNBC: Beyond Budgeting posted this on their facebook page; I love looking at ways to save more money in my grocery budget!

2 thoughts on “Finds around the blog-o-sphere, 3-11-11

  1. Thank you for not only visiting my site and sharing but for your kind words. I find so much comfort in the stories of others; ideas to try, and a reassurance that there is light at the end of the tunnel and we can make it through.

    Have a wonderful weekend!!

Leave a Reply

